Service Management



Created on


Last revised on

Reading time: 8 min

What Is Service Management?

In a modern business organization, every department relies on information technology (IT) to carry out its role effectively and efficiently. That means that IT departments or IT organizations are under more and more pressure to deliver better services, often at a reduced cost. Service management helps to achieve this goal. [1]

Service Management provides a way to combine, integrate and coordinate the various components and activities of an organization in a flexible way. It offers: [1]

  • An end-to-end service approach – it gives a structure of working in the whole organization.
  • A value-based approach – it helps you to stay focused on what brings value to the customer.

An Example of a Service Management Framework


ITIL is a well-known framework for IT and digitally enabled services. It provides comprehensive guidance for establishing an effective service management system.

It was originally developed by the UK government in the 1980s, with the goal of improving the quality of IT-enabled services and IT projects. Nowadays it is a well-known approach, adopted by many organizations globally.

Other Standards and Frameworks

There is a variety of other standards, frameworks, and communities related to IT service management. You can use these to implement best practices in your organization.

Note that many of the standards and frameworks are useful in organizations of all sizes and from all sectors.

Below you can find some examples of them.


ISO (International Organization for Standardization) is an international organization with a membership of 165 national standards bodies. Through its members it brings together experts from all over the world to develop International Standards. [2]

You can find standards for example on IT service management, quality management, and information security management.


itSMF (IT Service Management Forum) is an independent forum for Service Management professionals worldwide. It is a not-for-profit organisation which provides an accessible network of industry experts, information sources and events. [3]


M_o_R (Management of Risk) is a route map for risk management. It can help organizations identify, assess, and control risks and put in place effective frameworks for making informed decisions. [4]


MSP (Managing Successful Programmes) is a best practice programme management framework, designed to align programmes and projects to organizational strategy and enable enterprise agility. [5]


PRINCE2® (Projects IN Controlled Environments) is a project management method that helps to deliver projects of any size or complexity. [6]

PRINCE2 Agile®

PRINCE2 Agile® is an agile project management solution, combining the flexibility and responsiveness of agile with the governance of PRINCE2®. [7]

PMBoK® and PMI

PMBoK® (the Project Management Body of Knowledge) is a set of standard terminology and guidelines for project management. The body of knowledge evolves over time and is presented in a book called the PMBOK Guide. [8]

PMI (Project Management Institute) is an association for those who consider project, program or portfolio management their profession. [8]


IPMA (International Project Management Association) seeks to enhance organizations’ project, programme and portfolio competences. IPMA is a federation of which Member Associations (MAs) develop project management competences in their geographic areas of influence. [9]


LITA (Lean IT Association) aims to provide an industry-standard set of Lean IT reference materials and other resources, a certification scheme, and a clear understanding of the value and positioning of Lean IT relative to other bodies of knowledge, frameworks and standards. [10]


EFQM (The European Foundation for Quality Management Excellence) is a practical framework for organisational change and performance improvement. It offers training, insights and a global learning network. [11]


TOGAF® (The Open Group Architecture Framework) standard is an Enterprise Architecture methodology and framework used to improve business efficiency. It ensures consistent standards, methods, and communication among Enterprise Architecture professionals. [12]


TickITplus offers an approach to IT quality and certification assessment. While ISO 9001 is the mandatory standard, TickITplus can also provide certification for other IT Standards under one certification arrangement. [13]


CMMI® (Capability Maturity Model Integration) is a set of global best practices that drives business performance through building and benchmarking key capabilities. CMMI models help organizations to understand their current level of capability and performance and offer a guide to optimize business results. [14]


COBIT (Control Objectives for Information and Related Technology) is a framework created for IT governance and management. [15]


SFIA (Skills Framework for the Information Age) describes skills and competencies required by professionals in roles involved in information and communication technologies, digital transformation and software engineering. [16]

Move up to


  1. Agutter, Claire (2020). ITIL® 4 Essentials: Your Essential Guide for the ITIL 4 Foundation Exam and Beyond (Second Edition). IT Governance Publishing.
  2. ISO. About. Retrieved 10 November 2020.
  3. itSMF International. About. Retrieved 10 November 2020.
  4. Axelos. M_o_R (Management of Risk). Retrieved 10 November 2020.
  5. Axelos. MSP (Managing Successful Programmes). Retrieved 10 November 2020.
  6. Axelos. PRINCE2® (Projects IN Controlled Environments). Retrieved 10 November 2020.
  7. Axelos. PRINCE2 Agile®. Retrieved 10 November 2020.
  8. PMI (Project Management Institute). PMI and PMBoK®. Retrieved 10 November 2020.
  9. IPMA (International Project Management Association). About. Retrieved 10 November 2020.
  10. LITA (Lean IT Association). About. Retrieved 10 November 2020.
  11. EFQM (The European Foundation for Quality Management Excellence). About. Retrieved 10 November 2020.
  12. The Open Group. TOGAF® (The Open Group Architecture Framework). Retrieved 10 November 2020.
  13. TickITplus. About. Retrieved 10 November 2020.
  14. ISACA. CMMI® (Capability Maturity Model Integration). Retrieved 10 November 2020.
  15. ISACA. COBIT (Control Objectives for Information and Related Technology). Retrieved 10 November 2020.
  16. SFIA (Skills Framework for the Information Age). About. Retrieved 10 November 2020.